The court rejects the petition filed against Savelugu MP.

Mrs Beauty


Following his election as the district's MP in the 2020 elections, a Tamale High Court dismissed a complaint filed against Savelugu Abdul Jacob Iddrisu. Jacob Iddrisu was declared the victor of the Savelugu Constituency Parliamentary race in the petition filed by Abdul Somed Gunu, the NPP's candidate for parliament in the 2020 elections. According to the petitioner, there were numerous irregularities, such as over-voting and voting irregularities, in the election that resulted in the NDC candidate winning.

However, on Friday, January 20, 2023, the Tamale High Court, presided over by Justice Daniel Obeng, upheld the outcomes deemed valid by the Electoral Commission (EC). He rejected the petitioner's claims, claiming that they were nothing more than administrative blunders that had no bearing on the outcomes announced by the EC. The petitioner was also required by the court to pay compensation of $40,000 Ghana cedis to the Savelugu MP and $20,000 cedis to the EC.

In a related development, the High Court rejected a petition brought by Umar Alhassan, the NDC's candidate for the Zabzugu Constituency in the 2020 elections, challenging the declaration of the local NPP MP, John Benam Jabaah. With this development, the Court has officially recognized John Benam Jabaah as the MP for Zabzugu, as declared by the EC.

Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)